My Birthday Wish: Water

Yes, those are my hands in the picture. Thanks to Cam Cheline for helping me out with that!

For about a year now, I have been a supporter of the philanthropic organization Charity: Water. It all started when one of my favorite bands (Project 86) partnered with them to design a t-shirt. All of the proceeds from the shirt went directly to Charity: Water and the funding of drilling water wells in third-world countries to provide people with clean water. Charity: Water itself is non-profit as well. Every cent that is donated is funneled directly into their efforts to provide clean water.

Two weeks ago, I flew down to Atlanta, Georgia to attend the Catalyst Conference. It just so happened that one of the speakers at the conference was Scott Harrison, the founder of Charity: Water. During his presentation, he showed us pictures of villages around the world that literally have no water. They walk for miles each day and fill up containers to bring back just for the sake of survival. Such a basic human need and there are those around the world who don’t have immediate access to it.

At the end of his talk, he challenged all 13,000 of the attendees in the audience to give up their birthdays for the provision of water. Charity: Water sponsors a campaign each year in which they ask people to contribute their age’s worth in dollars to the drilling of water wells. I got to thinking to myself…every single year my mom comes to me asking what I want for my birthday and I am never able to give a good answer for that. Now I have one.

This year, I have decided to give up any potential birthday gifts to Charity: Water and ask whoever wants to give me something to contribute my age’s worth in money ($22). What do I really need anyway? I have created a campaign page that you can visit here:

http://mycharitywater.org/collinwantswater

I’m not trying to guilt anyone into donating money, but if you’re interested you can do it through that link. And the site will be open until January 20th. Any time I find myself with some extra change between now and then, I’ll be tossing it into the pot. $25 is enough to provide one person with clean water for 20 years. Pretty cool, huh?

I would encourage all of you to check out Charity: Water for yourselves and maybe even consider giving up your own birthdays. Normally I’m not a fan of celebrating my birthday, but this year I feel a lot of joy knowing that I’ll be using it for something bigger than myself. If you are interested in getting involved, go to this site (http://mycharitywater.org/p/signin) and start your own page. It literally takes two minutes.

And if you like to wear TOMS, check these out!

Leave a Reply

