Artist Spotlight: Beautiful Eulogy

Every now and then, I will stumble across a song that blows my mind. If I’m honest though, I have never much cared for artists whose lyrical content so explicitly resembles the language of the Psalms. It takes creative talent to carry that kind of language into genres that weren’t founded with a taste for its presence, such as hardcore and hip hop. And for the most part, musicians that have tried it end up producing something horribly cheesy.

Now, it is getting better. There are some great artists writing some fantastic Gospel-centered music that doesn’t sound like this or this. Last week, one of these gems found me as I browsed through a blog I regularly visit. Beautiful Eulogy is a hip-hip trio out of Portland, Oregon. From the opening track to the very last note of their debut album, Satellite Kite, there is no mistaking where the hope of their hearts lies. The production is clean and highlights the creative uses they employ for the beats and rhythms that drive their music.

I was especially struck by the final song on the album, also entitled, Beautiful Eulogy. The video below is a live recording of the track. Beneath that is a sample of the lyrics from the second verse – the most moving portion of the track.

Visit the band’s site and consider purchasing their album by clicking here.

How sweet the gospel sounds to ears like mine
Well acquainted with pain and strained relationships
Friendships that suffer from long distances
Or even worse they get severed from something more severe
And He still hasn’t wiped away all my tears yet
My cheeks get wet every now and then
Even when I give my best, I know I fall short
I get scared when the ball’s in my court
Focused on, my performance, wretched and poor
It makes the message more real when I preach it
I’m not there yet so I’m reaching, reaching for a goal
To stand before my King and be speechless

Leave a Reply

