Cooked, Slow Food, and the Allure of Beauty

cooked

Before I married my wife, I stocked my refrigerator and pantry with what I considered the essentials—frozen pizzas, hot dogs, and lots of ramen noodles. These foods were affordable, easy to prepare, and agreed with my youthful metabolism. My wife, on the other hand, loved to cook. She watched the Food Network religiously and collected family recipes. To celebrate my birthday for the first time as a couple, she surprised me by preparing homemade spaghetti and meatballs. From scratch. If I close my eyes, I can still smell the lingering scent of sautéed garlic and taste the salted blend of pork and beef. That was one of the moments I knew I could not let her get away.

Over the years, my wife’s joy for cooking taught me how to see food differently. I have learned to enjoy reading about food, tasting new flavors, and splurging on the occasional high-end meal. Perhaps most important, I have come to appreciate food as more than merely an object for consumption, but a gift that has the potential to cultivate community, gratitude, and even faith…

*You can read the rest of this post at Christ and Pop Culture.

Leave a Reply

