Wonder, Belief, and Buddy the Elf

Elf

Most of us have a story or two of odd gifts we have received for Christmas. Mine is the bundle of green sticks I got when I was six years old. They were tied neatly with twine and set among the gift-wrapped items that had accumulated under our tree. But they were not a surprise. My dad and had I ribbed one another throughout the year about how our behavior would directly influence the presents we would reap from Santa’s benevolence. When December arrived, he joked that while I had not been bad enough to earn stockings filled with coal, I made the cut for the next worst giftβ€”a pile of sticks. β€œJust wait and see,” he assured me.

But I smelled deceit…

*You can read the rest of this post at Christ and Pop Culture.

Illustration Courtesy of Thomas Powell Griffith.

Leave a Reply

